Go to the table of contents Go to the previous page Go to the next page View or print as PDF
Web Protection Clients > Working with clients
Working with clients
Administrator Help | Forcepoint Web Security and Forcepoint URL Filtering | v8.5.x
Related topics:
Use the Policy Management > Clients page to view information about existing clients, add, edit, or delete clients, or move clients to a delegated administration role.
If you are a delegated administrator, add clients to the Clients page from your managed clients list. This allows you to apply policies to the clients. See Adding a client for instructions.
Clients are divided into 3 groups:
*
Directory, which includes users, groups, and domains (OUs) from your directory service (see Working with users and groups).
*
Networks, IPv4 or IPv6 address ranges within the network that can be governed by a single policy (see Working with computers and networks).
*
Computers, individual machines in the network, identified by IPv4 or IPv6 address (see Working with computers and networks).
Click the plus sign (+) next to the client type to see a list of existing clients of the selected type. Each client listing includes:
*
*
The policy currently assigned to the client. The Default policy is used until you assign another policy (see Web Protection Policies).
*
Whether or not the client can use a password override (see Password override) or account override (see Account override) option to view or attempt to view blocked sites.
*
To find a specific client, browse the appropriate node in the tree.
To edit client policy, password override, quota time, and authentication settings, select one or more clients in the list, and then click Edit. See Changing client settings for more information.
To add a client, or to apply a policy to a managed client who does not currently appear on the Clients page, click Add, and then go to Adding a client for more information.
If you have created delegated administration roles (see Delegated Administration and Reporting), Super Administrators can move their clients to other roles. First mark the check box next to the client entry, and then click Move to Role. When a client is moved to a delegated administration role, the policy and filters applied to the client are copied to the role. See Moving clients to roles for more information.
If you have configured User Service to communicate with an LDAP-based directory service, the Manage Custom LDAP Groups button appears in the toolbar at the top of the page. Click this button to add or edit groups based on an LDAP attribute (see Working with custom LDAP groups).
To remove a client from the Clients page, select the client and click Delete.

Go to the table of contents Go to the previous page Go to the next page View or print as PDF
Web Protection Clients > Working with clients
Copyright 2018 Forcepoint. All rights reserved.